Trusting Others

How many people do you trust with your child? Me, well not many… actually I can easily count them on one hand – actually a few fingers… Harsh? Maybe, but an unfortunate truth.

It is VERY hard to trust people who have NO IDEA about Type 1 Diabetes. Most people do not understand the potential seriousness of the disease.

Case and point: last Summer I allowed Eden to go for a playdate and swim at a friends house after school without me. I gave STRICT instructions to the adult in charge about what to do. Exercising and especially swimming for some reason can cause a FAST drop in blood sugar levels. I was supposed to get a text with her BS number before swimming and every 30 minutes thereafter… About 90 minutes goes by and I’m thinking to myself that they must have decided NOT to go swimming…  I sent a text asking the last time she tested because I hadn’t gotten a report..  “30 minutes ago – she is still swimming. Let me get her out and have her test.” My heart skips a beat…. text comes back – “she is 56 – what do I need to give her?” COMPLETE PANIC sets in… I respond – ” OMG. juice NOW – NO more swimming. very dangerous. be there soon.”

When I get there she is sitting by the pool – juice finished with a sheepish look on her face. When she tests again her BS level has risen and all is good again. So, she DID test before swimming, but I didn’t get a report of what the BS number was – if I did I would have told her she needed to EAT something before swimming.The adult wasn’t terribly apologetic, just stated that she didn’t realize HOW FAST it could happen… Hmmmm….. WHY DO YOU THINK I LEFT SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS ?!?!

The adult in charge should have been more responsible – Eden is a kid.. Of course she didn’t want to stop what she was doing and ask for something to eat if all her friends where jumping in the pool.. If I hadn’t texted when I did, I get chills at the thought of what could have happened… passed out from low blood sugar – in a POOL no less – with an adult that didn’t really know what to do..

NOT GOING TO DO THAT AGAIN… over protective, maybe.

But my child’s life in your hands is NOT a game

5 thoughts on “Trusting Others

  1. Like your blog..just discovered it from a post on PEP and came on over. My heart sank at that story about the swimming and lows. It’s true that it’s tough to trust anyone to watch your kid, especially one with T1D. We are only 8 months in since dx and I have not left my son at anyone’s house for any period of time, and I think my friends are terrific mothers. I just don’t want to burden them with care of my child..for the reason that it is not their responsibility to know what to do for his T1D. We have a few trusted babysitters…but only on rare, rare occasions…they are ALL family members and nurses. I’m like you…no chances taken. I’d rather be safe than sorry. I remember those “carefree” days before dx..when we didn’t worry about things like lows and carbs and fears, other than sunburn at the pool and staying in the shallow end. I’m sorry you went thru that, and I’m glad things were okay.

  2. Great blog! Found you on PEP. We had a similar episode recently where my 7 year old daughter went to a friends house. My husband packed her lunch with carb count included. She is on an Omnipod so all that had to be done was check blood sugar and enter carbs that he had written down for her lunch. My daughter can even do this on her own. The problem was my husband had packed her a dessert in her lunch. Her friend’s mom saw it and took it out thinking that she couldn’t have it because because she has diabetes. This cookie was included in the carb count for her lunch. Guess what happend? That’s right, she was low. Luckily my daughter is able to tell when she was low and was able to test and treat herself.

  3. Pingback: SO worth it … | Eden's Effort

Leave a Reply

