Why I do What I do… every.single.day.

Somedays I question why I am actually doing this…

Putting our life and my deepest emotions out there for everyone to read and see is difficult.

I am a very private and shy person – being in public places and situations where I don’t know people make me incredibly uncomfortable. I have a hard time making conversation with people I don’t know and I honestly just like to be alone a lot of the time. Conversations seem even more difficult since Type 1 Diabetes entered our lives – because it IS my life and somedays I feel like that is ALL I have to talk about.. I live it and breathe it every single day and it is hard to find common ground with people who just don’t understand.

Its hard knowing that a lot of the people around me might now see me in a different light. It can be scary putting yourself out there – but this IS OUR LIFE – and I truly believe that people NEED to see the real challenges that kids and their families face living with this disease.

1459240_429695337132272_166037615_n

YES – my child has a DISEASE..

Just writing this word brings tears to my eyes and makes me incredibly emotional.. 

Type 1 Diabetes is an INCURABLE DISEASE 

We should NOT be ashamed of this disease because it is called “diabetes”..

We should not have to hide in a corner when Eden needs to test her blood sugar in case it offends someone.

We should not have to be mocked with jokes insinuating that our kids ate too much sugar and brought this on themselves.

When is having a disease FUNNY?? No one would EVER dare laugh at someone with CANCER – why are we treated so differently.. ? Because people don’t get it.

The world needs to be EDUCATED .. public perception NEEDS to change.

I am being LOUD and PROUD about this disease in our life – I hope that Eden will NEVER feel ashamed and at some point be loud and proud with me..

Type 1 Diabetes is an INCURABLE DISEASE and the world needs to hear about it..

Somedays I need to remind myself – THAT is why I am doing this..

7 thoughts on “Why I do What I do… every.single.day.

  1. Bravo!! Very well said. I am rather shy and like to keep my personal life to myself. I didn’t post anything about my daughters diagnosis on my facebook page till about a month later. I am slowly coming to terms with it and hope to one day be as vocal about it as all of the other d parents I have been following. I am my childs advocate and I don’t ever want her to be ashamed of her disease.

Leave a Reply

