LIFE – Comparing Apples to Oranges ..

 I’m sure we all do it – I know I do..
    • I compare my 2 children and marvel at how completely different they are in so many ways even though they were raised in the same environment.
    • I compare appropriate punishments, rewards and encouragements to find what works for their different personalities.

I speak with other parents and breathe a HUGE sigh of relief when I learn that other families are fighting the same battles raising their teen and pre-teen children.

    • I compare and take notes from other D-families with their successes and challenges raising a Type 1 Diabetic child.
    • I wonder what we are doing wrong when we can’t manage to get Eden’s blood sugars IN range more often versus OUT of range.

I see D-parents saying that 180 is too high a blood sugar number for their child – when I CELEBRATE anything that is in the 100’s..

Seeing and reading that scares me and constantly makes me question the way we do things.

The thing is – WHY do I do this to myself ??

We are ALL DIFFERENT and although making comparisons sometimes helps to ease the anxiety and helplessness I am sometimes feeling – I am comparing APPLES to ORANGES.

This especially goes for raising a typical pre-teen girl who happens to also be a Type 1 Diabetic.

Although T1D is a disease shared by many – it is NOT THE SAME for everyone. Everyones body is different !! Insulin – carbs – exercise – illness – age and attitude ALL affect people in a multitude of ways and therefore the outcome of management is going to be different..

doing the best

    • I constantly research various methods for dosing insulin and management of T1D.. I welcome advice and sometimes am willing to try just about anything to see if it will stick.
    • Sometimes it does – sometimes it doesn’t – sometimes it works for a little while and then we are back at square one. Everything we do is by trial and error but what works one day might not work the next.

Bottom line..

We are doing the BEST WE CAN and I need to be OK with that.

2 thoughts on “LIFE – Comparing Apples to Oranges ..

Leave a Reply

