Type 1 Diabetes is stupid…

Just wanted to say Type 1 Diabetes is stupid – makes no sense and drives me crazy!

 

Yesterday we had huge struggles trying to keep Eden’s blood sugar levels UP – she was having stubborn LOWS – with lots of uncovered carbs (not giving insulin for food eaten) but she was still not rising..

 

Of course these lows started right before basketball game #1 and continued until the end of the 2nd one.  why?  I have absolutely NO IDEA.. She has not been consistently low for a VERY long time..

 

I don’t like low blood sugars.. they scare me.. especially when T1D is so unpredictable and Eden is on the basketball court.. I have always told her – if you don’t feel right – “sit down – don’t fall down”

 

No doubt low blood sugars are worse for Eden because she can feel them – but they don’t scare her like they scare me – not much scares Eden.. actually nothing that I know of except for my “death stare look” 😉

 

I was up every hour or two last night to check her blood sugar and lower her basal rate (steady trickle of insulin 24 hrs a day) so that she would not crash in the middle of the night… one of my worst fears ..

 

GRAND TOTAL of finger pricks to test blood sugar yesterday = 16

 

Today – same drill – basketball game except she is running HIGH… probably will struggle to get her blood sugar levels down today ..

 

grrrr…. just another day living the life with Type 1 Diabetes…

Leave a Reply

