Camp DMC … 

A girl – her favorite thing and her basketball idol

 

DSC_2469

 

Day #1

 

Eden was SO incredibly nervous the entire drive there – holy moly – she was going to finally MEET her basketball idol – NBA Star DeMarcus Cousins… Of course her blood sugar numbers paid the price – which I was ready for – due to her nervous excitement..

 

What I was NOT READY for was the fact that Eden and her group left the building!!!

I didn’t know they were leaving until they walked out – didn’t know where they were going and I was a complete and utter nervous wreck the entire time she was gone…

 

  • She had NO blood sugar meter with her
  • She had NO form of sugar with her and NO-ONE she was with knew what to do in case she had a low blood sugar episode
  • My only saving grace was the fact that hopefully her nervous adrenaline was going to keep her numbers up until she got back.

 

I tried leaving my seat to look for her with no luck – unfortunately all parents were seated high up in the bleachers away from the kids.. I am SO used to being able to clearly see her face and have her run over to me to test her blood sugar levels if I signal to her and think it necessary… I can tell by her face and demeanor on the basketball court that something is off usually before she does.. That wasn’t happening at this camp and I was NOT mentally prepared for it. She was gone for only 15-20 minutes – but boy, were those minutes LONG..

 

Yes, I could have made big fuss – found someone to tell me immediately where she was – but I didn’t.. I trusted in the fact that Eden would listen closely to her body and tell someone if something was wrong. It was incredibly difficult and was pure torture – but I did it and both Eden and myself survived.

 

Eden had a blast the first day – went up against Big Cuz himself with a Euro step layup..

 

DSC_2310

 

He was kind the first time – letting her score on him – even gave her a pat on the back and a “good job” ..

 

Subsequent times he blocked her shot and swatted the ball away 🙂

 

I think that was the highlight of the day for her – and the fact she got called out as a stand out camper doing a great job and earned herself some pretty cool DMC socks 🙂

 

I earned a few more grey hairs that day

but it was all worth it..

4 thoughts on “Camp DMC … 

  1. Pingback: Sugar in Pocket … | Eden's Effort

  2. Pingback: Shell Shocked … | Eden's Effort

  3. Pingback: Shaken to my Core … | Eden's Effort

Leave a Reply

