It’s coming… 

 

There is going to be a time in the not so distant future where I am probably going to need to stop writing this Blog..

 

Right now – it doesn’t bother Eden – believe me, I ask her regularly..

 

She obviously knows I write something every day.

 

    • Some days she couldn’t care less what I write
    • Some days she asks to read
    • Some days I actually encourage her to read
    • Some days I’d rather she not read – I don’t need her to feel any additional negative thoughts about D or even know how much I sometimes struggle.

 

I KNOW the time is coming where she is no longer going to want me to share our personal life and struggles with this disease..

 

The thing is – even though we have been fighting this battle for 4 years now and I consider that we are winning – I also KNOW that the next few years are going to be some of the toughest that we will encounter..

 

Eden is growing up – with growing up comes lots of different and difficult emotions..

 

I clearly remember the angst of developing physically, trying to fit in and the girlie friend drama it brings.

 

All of those things are going to be a little more difficult with Type 1 Diabetes – an extra bump in the road to get over. Will Eden be proud of her disease and want to share it with her friends or will she hide from it and try to pretend it doesn’t exist – putting her health and life at risk?

 

Yes – I worry .. I am a mother and will ALWAYS worry.. With the start of another school year right around the corner – this is what I am thinking about today because I know it is coming – and coming soon…

 

Image found on Pinterest

Image found on Pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

