SO worth it …

 

Yesterday Eden had another opportunity at freedom!

 

She had a blast swimming at a friends house – we stayed in regular contact – and they managed her blood sugar numbers perfectly! 🙂 

 

Swimming can be VERY difficult and can cause rapid drops in blood sugar levels quickly.. (see scary story here) They tested every 30 minutes – sugared up when necessary – and all worked out perfectly,  much to my relief ..

 

I managed to stay pretty calm and didn’t stress out too much – until Ally and I ran out to run an errand and my cell phone (stupid thing) was almost dead! didn’t like that feeling – but all was good…

 

Eden even had dinner there and guessed and dosed her carbs – YAY! 🙂

 

I must say it was VERY WEIRD not having Eden at the dinner table – as it pretty much never happens that she is away from home..

 

All in all it was a very positive experience – Eden proved her responsibility and had a terrific time. Smiling from ear to ear when she got home and SO happy with herself when she checked her blood sugar before bed and realized she had done a great job guessing her carbs for dinner 🙂

 

 

The only downside …

 

I didn’t actually SEE how active Eden was in the swimming pool – yes it makes a difference. Exercise can cause delayed drops in blood sugar and last night that is indeed what happened.. I didn’t really know exactly how MUCH sugar I needed to pump her up with and whether or not she would continue to drop…

 

It was a restless night as I tried to get her blood sugar levels up to a safe number for sleeping and I was VERY thankful that she was back on her insulin pump so I could lower her insulin overnight..

 

But it was SO WORTH IT ..

 

 

Leave a Reply

