Shaken to my Core …

 

Yesterday I heard from another D-mom that at 13 year old Type 1 Diabetic recently died whilst attending a basketball camp.

 

I do not know any other details…

I do know – that this news has totally and utterly shaken me to my core.

 

Anytime I hear of a death due to Type 1 Diabetes it is scary and makes me think of my own daughter and the what-ifs. The entire diabetes community seems like a big extended family and when we lose one of our “own” it hurts and reminds us of how unpredictable and dangerous this disease can be.

 

This particular news really hit close to home

– WAY too close to home…

 

Eden has attended numerous basketball camps over the Summer and has one more to go to next weekend.

I have ALWAYS stayed all day at every single camp – every single practice and every single game since diagnosis. It is just too risky NOT to – you never know what will happen and I will NOT leave Eden with anyone who does not know what to do in an emergency. Have I been tempted to duck out for a little while – yup. Have I freaked out when she has disappeared out of sight – yup. (see here) This is EXACTLY WHY…

 

Could this child have had an underlying medical condition – absolutely.

Could this child have died due to T1D and a low blood sugar episode – absolutely.

 

13 year olds want freedom – they don’t want/need their parents hovering 24/7 to make sure they are safe.

 

low fact myth

I try very hard to give Eden freedom – but whilst playing basketball – until she doesn’t bounce around from team to team and from coach to coach – it is NON-NEGOTIABLE… I need to know that she will be with someone who knows what to do in an emergency. T1D can turn into an emergency quickly…

 

This news is a stark reminder –

Type 1 Diabetes is dangerous and can be deadly

 

– I feel such sorrow for the family who lost their child

T1D sucks…

4 thoughts on “Shaken to my Core …

  1. I think it is hard as a parent to let go of our children with type 1 because there is risk involved. Even though my daughter is a teen with type 1 and has had it for 13 years, I still need to make sure the people she will be with are trained to administer a glucagon shot. It really is necessary for her safety. I had to use it once, and like you said, it does become an emergency quickly. So sad for this family.

  2. It’s interesting, as a type 1 who was diagnosed in my teens, I cannot fully relate to what you and your daughter have been through. I can understand however the fear of letting your daughter out of your site. I had very hands off parents in general and that didn’t change after diagnosis. They could have been viewed to some as negligent to the needs of a new T1. However, through my own suffering with the disease, including a very scary trip to the hospital after fainting on the concrete at school, I learned the hard way how to take care of myself – I learned how to be my own protector. This is essential I’m afraid to say for all Type 1s who eventually will need to take care of themselves and live alone one day (I lived alone for over a decade -not even roommates – and had no more emergencies). The earlier kids can learn to be their own knight, their own angel and protector, the more empowered and confident they’ll be to accomplish goals in life beyond just surviving diabetes.
    At the same time, I can only imagine that this is extremely difficult to do when you’ve seen a child grow up with T1 🙂

    • I can’t even imagine how you must have felt trying to wrangle D on your own 😦

      Eden is gradually taking the reigns more and more in relation to her own management and care. some things she just cannot comprehend yet or is not ready for – in those cases we will do it for her until she is ready and confident. It is VERY hard to let go but understand it is a necessary thing.. sounds like you have a wonderful attitude! thank you for reading and sharing your experiences

Leave a Reply

