Feelings are feelings …

I am generally a pretty happy-go-lucky kind of person..

I tend to look on the brighter side of things – I like to be an optimist and I always try to give people the benefit of the doubt. I worry a lot – maybe too much – but it comes with the territory and in my opinion, shows the level of which I care about the people I love.

 

Today I am questioning things and people’s good heartedness in general… I am somewhat emotional today – coming down from the stress of the past week. 

 

I speak from the heart and I wear my heart on my sleeve –

that is who I am.

 

 

I FEEL for people – I think I am a good person and that empathy and kindness are some of my best qualities.. I would give the shirt off my back to help those close to me if they were in need – probably even if it was the only shirt I owned…

 

Today, it doesn’t feel like those feelings are reciprocated..

 

Image found on Pinterest

Image found on Pinterest

 

 

YES – I take things to heart. I take things personally when maybe I shouldn’t – but that is who I am.

 

I am sharing our life, our struggles, my emotions every.single.day. to help people.. It takes A LOT for me as a person to reach out – reach out for help – reach out for support – reach out for understanding.. This Blog has been a fantastic way for me to do that..

 

  • To help people understand what a life with T1D is truly like
  • To help educate the public so the T1D community can stop being unfairly judged
  • To help those dealing with some of the same struggles and not feel so alone.
  • To help FIND A CURE

 

I’ve said it before and I will say it again…

 

Type 1 Diabetes is an INVISIBLE DISEASE – that impacts your life in so many more ways than just physically… It is an emotional roller coaster that on some days you are gripping on for dear life and desperately want off.  On the flip side, some days you are enjoying the wind in your face and feel like D won’t stop anything.

 

Maybe every.single.day is too much for people?

Maybe I have dulled peoples senses and they are bored hearing about it?

Maybe people just don’t care as much as they say they do?

 

 

I don’t know – but today I’m feeling disheartened …

right or wrong – feelings are feelings…

I hope I get proved wrong..

7 thoughts on “Feelings are feelings …

  1. I hope you keep blogging every day. I’m a mom with a kid with her own disability and I look forward to your posts every.single.day. I want to know how Eden did on her first day of school and how basketball camp went and how this awesome girl with T1D is taking life head on and not letting this disease tell her different. But I also find it eye opening to see how many needles Eden uses in a day and how just a simple step out the door means a lot of preparation to deal with whatever T1D throws your way. And for that I am more informed and educated, which I wish I had the guts to do the same to spread awareness about my own kid and her daily struggles. So don’t stop. What you are doing is an amazing thing for your daughter and any kid that has this awful, non-discriminating disease.

  2. Tomorrow is another D-Day……. your blog gives me strength!! Please keep going! you are a girl after my own heart….. every single day!!! Kx

  3. I can relate – I too take a lot personally – I try not to but . . . Thanks for your daily writings and for being vulnerable enough to share with the world – it’s not an easy thing to do and it opens us up to both positive and negative feedback – this is what makes it hard to continue. Nonetheless it’s helping people and that’s what’s most important as far as I’m concerned.

  4. Hi, I so look forward to your blogs every.single.day!! Thankyou for your generosity to share your thoughts and experiences. I am mum of a 12 year old with t1 who plays basketball almost every day and totally relate to what you write. THANK YOU!!

Leave a Reply

