Solidarity …

It was that time again today… Time to change Eden’s pump site and refill the insulin stored in her pump. (you can read more about it here)

 

2 days goes by SO QUICKLY….

 

Eden doesn’t like it – she casually said, I don’t like my pump then followed by I don’t like shots either..

 

Sorry kid – it’s one or the other to stay alive

 

 

In solidarity I offered to put in a pump site too.. D-dad and I have done it before, but it was a long time ago when she first got connected to her pump.

 

IMAG1119

Me on the left – Eden on the right

 

As I stared down at my exposed belly getting ready to insert the big needle into myself – I couldn’t do it. I pinched the skin, counted to 3 at least 5 times but was unable to actually jab myself.

 

Something I do to Eden EVERY 2 DAYS –

need her to be able to do on her own…

and I couldn’t do it!

 

In the end I used an inserting device – basically you attach the site (with needle) to a spring loaded device and harpoon yourself with it.

 

Not fun – didn’t hurt that badly, but I can definitely understand why she is not ready to do this herself yet!!

 

So – for the next 2 days I will have a pump site in my belly and the tubing tucked into a pocket..

Eden thinks I should tie a rock to it and carry that around with me  too…  😉

I opted for an old remote..

 

  • I wonder how many times I will snag the tubing on a door handle and rip it out?
  • How it will be sleeping with it?
  • Going to the bathroom?

 

Nothing like living a day in her shoes – although it NOWHERE compares to what she deals with every.single.day.

3 thoughts on “Solidarity …

  1. Pingback: Not the Same…  | Eden's Effort

Leave a Reply

