Better you than me …. 😳

 

Sometimes not stepping in as a parent is difficult.

 

Our kids need to learn on their own.

Sometimes the hard way… the thing is – the hard way with Type 1 Diabetes is VERY hard to sit back and watch as a mother.

 

Eden isn’t 7 years old anymore.

She has had Type 1 Diabetes for over 4 years.

She knows the drill. She knows what she SHOULD be doing.

But she is still a kid – a kid with a carefree, blasé attitude – who thinks everything is “fine” and I shouldn’t worry so much.

 

She NEEDS to be responsible for her own D-care. Not that everything falls on her shoulders, but she needs to do certain things consistently to ensure that she is safe. She needs to know what to do and when. Some things are obviously much more important than others. If she misses a lunch bolus (insulin dose) here or there it isn’t the end of the world. Yes, she will be HIGH and probably feel crappy, but she isn’t in any immediate danger. Being LOW on the other hand is a different story all together – it can be dangerous – it can be an emergency, quickly.

To date – Eden has had very little experience with strenuous exercise and a parent not being near by. With PE at school – it is rarely “strenuous” or something that causes her blood sugar to drop. We usually know ahead of time if she will be running the mile and we can account for the exercise with additional carbohydrates.

With X Country earlier in the school year – she tested right before practice – and we would assess what needed to be done each day as necessary. And she would supposedly carry sugar in her pocket with her – that didn’t always happen and gave me serious anxiety. X Country races were another story all together and gave us lots of problems. We did NOT have Dexcom or Nightscout when she was running X Country – or that would have eliminated a LOT of needless worry.

This week, as I wrote about yesterday, we have the start of basketball practice at school. We really had no idea how active she herself would be – but knowing Eden, she can’t help herself when on the basketball court and I assume is probably doing drills, etc along with all the other kids.

 

Yesterday – sitting in the car waiting for basketball practice to end, watching her blood sugar tank was HARD. Eden was supposed to be paying close attention to her Dex – but didn’t. Thankfully all worked out fine and her blood sugar started dropping at the very end of practice. I truly WANTED to go into that gym – to see first hand that she was safe, but I didn’t.

 

Until yesterday –

Eden had only been left alone at basketball practice ONCE in her lifetime. 

 

Today – the third time of Eden handling bball practice on her own with T1D and my anxiety cranked it up a notch.  I was at home and with 30 minutes left of practice, her blood sugar started tanking again.

It is SO HARD –

to know that disaster could be right around the corner –

but waiting it out to see if Eden

will do what needs doing..

 

I watched the double arrows down for 10 minutes – I waited and then I just couldn’t NOT do something.. I mean, just HOW LONG should I wait – giving her the benefit of the doubt – before I play the mother card and make the call?

Blood sugar of 91 and double arrows down – meaning still dropping fast was just too much for me with 30 minutes left

I made the call..

 

20150108_145703

I first tried calling the coach – no surprise she didn’t hear her phone (or had it off) with all the noise in the gym. Then I called the school office..

 

Yes – we are trying to let Eden take responsibility for her own D care – giving her the freedom she needs and deserves.

But – I am her mother – so I still call the shots (no pun intended)

 

If at any time I feel like she might be headed for trouble – I WILL step in..

With that said – better you than me walking into the gym today.. 😳

Leave a Reply

