Double edged Sword…. 

 

So lately D has been kicking my butt…

the emotional side as a D-mom is VERY difficult – much harder than I ever anticipated it would be.

 

Finding the balance between being a caring mother and letting your child find their wings and do their own thing is tough in the D world.

 

Type 1 Diabetes makes this balance incredibly complicated and hard.

 

It’s one thing to let things slide like a clean room, leaving stuff lying around the house and doing dishes or chores. If I didn’t pick and choose my battles every day – I would seriously BE battling every day.

Some things are much harder to ignore – or let slip

Like D management

Things you KNOW are detrimental to your child’s health and well being. Maybe not immediately – but most definitely long term if it goes on for a long period of time.

 

We have been having some struggles lately – not new struggles – but ones that come and go..

D management is a 24 hour a day thing – it NEVER takes a break..

image found on Pinterest

image found on Pinterest

 

If I feel like D is kicking my butt – I can’t even imagine how Eden feels – when she is trying to navigate the already difficult pre-teen world.

  • SHE is the one who has to prick her finger a gazillion times
  • SHE is the one who has to count carbs for every single little thing she eats
  • SHE is the one who has to deal with the stares and being singled out
  • SHE is the one who is attached to a medical device 24/7 to LIVE
  • SHE is the one who lives with the stigma and the way D makes her body feel

 

Eden’s carefree blase attitude is a double edged sword.

She handles most D things like an absolute champ and rarely complains out loud.  It appears as though she may be complaining silently with her actions and thus causing me to feel like I am banging my head against a brick wall some days. 

Eden is 12 years old – but there is SO much to think about and manage with T1D. She wants to forget it exists and I honestly don’t blame her one bit.  every child is different – every childs personality is different – every situation is different. There is no easy fix or one answer – there is trial and error – the need for compassion and understanding and a lot of crossed fingers.

Type 1 Diabetes is invisible.

Unless you look closely and see the scars and medical devices she has attached to her body.

It is going to be a tough and gradual process – trying to maintain my sanity whilst trying to encourage her to take control of her disease – something she is going to have to manage FOREVER – for the REST OF HER LIFE.

 

I’m sure to outsiders I look like a helicopter mom – a worry wart – a control freak.

Maybe sometimes I am? But maybe those people just don’t get it?

Something I never really anticipated with this diagnosis was feeling understood.. This disease can make you feel so alone and isolated – because as a whole Type 1 Diabetes is misunderstood. People just don’t understand how it takes its toll and how much work is involved in keeping Eden alive and healthy – every.single.day. – and of course the emotions and struggles that go along with it.

 

image found on Pinterest

image found on Pinterest

 

Today – I posted to a couple of Facebook groups to get feedback and advice from other parents. The DOC (diabetes online community) is amazing – literally, within minutes – I had a bunch of suggestions and virtual hugs on how to tackle the issues we are dealing with.

 

The other day I posted this article (read here) on our Eden’s Effort Facebook page – it could not ring truer – especially today.

 

Facebook might now be more geared to the “old folk” as younger people have moved on to other forms of social media – but Facebook has saved my sanity and been my lifeline many times over.

thank you DOC – for the words of wisdom  and continued support

 

We will keep battling because we have no choice.

Type 1 Diabetes is a tough adversary – but we will win – and it will not get the better of us.

Just need to convince Eden to want to go to battle against D as much as I want to.

4 thoughts on “Double edged Sword…. 

  1. My Mum had the same battle with me as a teenager 😞 unfortunelty (and not due to anything she did or didnt do!) she lost it. I thought that if i ignored it my T1D would go away because there was no physical evidence that it was even there. I mean a broken bone, they can show you an x-ray and you can feel the pain, T1D…nothing. It wasnt until i was 16/17 and i had an eye exam, i saw the photo and they pointed out that a blood vessel had popped. It was only then that i realised i had to try and take some control of this thing. Joining some online groups like FreeDiabetics and becoming a big mentor to younger kids really helped me begin to take control and want to. Dont loose faith that she will step up to the plate, it will happen.

Leave a Reply

